Official Website of the UTS Bats
Eastern Suburbs, Sydney
Major partners
The Golden Sheaf
UTS Sport

2022 UTSAFC Club Champions announced

Billy Kanakis and Mel Lindsay have been crowned the UTS Australian Football Club’s men’s and women’s club champions for the 2022 AFL Sydney season.

They were among winners for every Bats’ team announced at the club’s best and fairest awards night at the UTS Aerial Function Centre on Saturday night.

Kanakis booted 17 goals for the Bats’ senior men’s side and won the best and fairest award by eight votes from Josh Lee and Xavier Barry-Murphy.

Mel Lindsay’s strong season saw her claim honours by 18 votes from Samantha Goldrick and Edwina Ross.

Other best-and-fairest award winners included Daniel Georos (Men’s Premier Reserves), Mairead Comerford (Women’s Division 1), Alex Rogerson and Pat Mullane (Men’s Division 1), Chris Reid (Men’s Division 3), and a three-way tie between Isabella Moro, Kate Hofmeyer, Tiffany Wales (Women’s Division 3), Antony Eussen (U19 Men’s Division 1).

The club also recognised Daniel Casarotto and Kaitlin McCaffery as club people of the year, and Chris Jepsen for outstanding club leadership.

Men’s Premier

B&F: Billy Kanakis

Runner Up: Josh Lee

Third: Xavier Barry-Murphy

Players’ Player: Michael Hart

Leading Goal Kicker: Billy Kanakis (17)

Women’s Premier

B&F: Mel Lindsay

Runner Up: Samantha Goldrick

Third: Edwina Ross

Players’ Player: Marine Robinson

Leading Goal Kicker: Jessica Quade (30)

Men’s Premier Reserves

B&F: Daniel Georos

Runner Up: Nelson Kanaan

Third: Harrison Dyson

Players’ Player: Harrison Dyson

Leading Goal Kicker: David Smith (16)

Women’s Division 1

B&F: Mairead Comerford

Runner Up: Tayliya Noack

Third: Bethany Thom

Players’ Player: Mairead Comerford

Leading Goal Kicker: Ebony Fisher (8)

Men’s Division 1

B&F: Alex Rogerson & Pat Mullane

Runner Up: Timothy Campelj

Third: Elliot Yeatman & Matthew Panton

Players’ Player: Alex Rogerson

Leading Goal Kicker: Nicholas Barrett (8)

Men’s Division 3

B&F: Chris Reid

Runner Up: James Aspinall

Third: Harrison Farmer and Thomas Carson

Players’ Player: Les Mudie

Leading Goal Kicker: Chris Reid (14)

Women’s Division 3

B&F: Isabella Moro, Kate Hofmeyer, Tiffany Wales

Runner Up: Hayley Buntmann and Zoe Lindegger

Third: Lucy Cornwell

Players’ Player: Tiffaney Wales

Leading Goal Kicker: Lucy Cornwell (5)


B&F: Antony Eussen

Runner Up: Liam Gordon

Third: Joshua Ralph

Players’ Player: Louis Pribula

Leading Goal Kicker: Jake Simcols (6)


Leading Goal Kicker and Players Player: Andrew Johnston 11 goals

Club Person of the year Male/Female/Outstanding

Male: Daniel Casarotto

Female: Kaitlin McCaffery

Leadership: Chris Jepsen

Share it



Nominations for 2024 Committee Open

Nominations for the UTS AFC Executive Committee are open. A list of all roles and job descriptions for the UTS AFC Executive Committee (Board) for the 2024

UTS AFC logo

Notice of Annual General Meeting

Notice is hereby given that the 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Members of the University of Technology Sydney Australian Football Club (UTSAFC) will