Official Website of the UTS Bats
Eastern Suburbs, Sydney
Major partners
The Golden Sheaf
UTS Sport

Borrillo, Mackrill named Club Champions

The Bats have celebrated a year of improvement on the field amid the challenges of COVID-19.

Thomas Borrillo and Tait Mackrill have been named club champions for the UTS Australian Football Club’s premier men’s and women’s sides for 2021 at the Bats’ annual best and fairest awards night.

In a COVID-affected year where just half a season was played, the pair were recognised at The Golden Sheaf on Friday evening as the best players in the black, white and green.

Borrillo played all-bar-one game of the shortened season and was a key component in the thrilling win over Inner West in Round 4.

Ash Backlund and Josh Lee were joint runners-up.

Backlund was named in the best players for five of the last seven games of the season in a strong debut year for the Bats after moving to the club from the Bulldogs, while Lee likewise played every game in the premier division after joining the Bats in the off-season as well.

Tait Mackrill kicks away against UNSW Eastern Suburbs

Mackrill continued her strong 2021 season crowned as the Bats’ women’s champion on the back of a strong year for the GWS Giants where she was awarded the Jacinda Barclay Fearless Award.

Mackrill played four matches of the shortened season and was named in the best players every week, including a best-on-ground performance in the club’s victory over Pennant Hills at Trumper Park in June.

Gabrielle Stanwix was placed second in the women’s count after a breakthrough year where she was also named Players’ Player. Lizzy Donnelly was named third after a season playing four games with her best performance against the Southern Power in Round 7.

Other best-and-fairest recipients include James Cassells and Gabe Lipinski (Men’s Premier Reserves), Alex Rogerson and Shaun Silver (Men’s Division 1), Bridget Abbott (Women’s Division 1), Zac Whitehead (Men’s Division 2), Marie Svelha (Women’s Division 3) and Matt Ttisha (Men’s U19).

Club awards were presented to senior coach Kyle Emley for Outstanding Leadership, while the Bats’ 2022 vice-presidents Sam Chadwick and Rose Leeson-Smith were recognised for their contributions in 2021 with the male and female club person awards.

2021 UTS Australian Football Club award recipients

Premier Men’s

Runner-Up: Ash Backlund and Joshua Lee

Club Champion: Thomas Borrillo

Leading Goalkicker: Sam Williams (32)

Premier Women’s

Club Champion: Tait Mackrill

Runner-Up: Gabrielle Stanwix

Third: Lizzy Donnelly

Leading Goalkicker: Jessica Quade (9)

Premier Reserves Men’s

Best and Fairest: James Cassells and Gabe Lipinski

Third: Damian Di Donato

Leading Goalkicker: Jay Watson (12)

Women’s Division 1

Best and Fairest: Bridget Abbott

Runner-Up: Eliza McGowan

Third: Ruby Harrison

Leading Goalkicker: Jessica Quade (6)

Players’ Player: Anja Samardzic

Men’s Division 1

Best and Fairest: Alex Rogerson and Shaun Silver

Third: Harry Strauss

Leading Goalkicker: Nicholas Barrett (9)

Men’s Division 2

Best and Fairest: Zac Whitehead

Runner-Up: Chris Akehurst

Third: Harry Mitchell

Leading Goalkicker: Zac Whitehead (21)

Women’s Division 3

Best and Fairest: Marie Svelha

Runner-Up: Lucinda Bourke

Third: Lucinda Cornwell and Sianna Harrison

Players’ Player: Lucinda Bourke

Leading Goalkicker: Lucinda Cornwell (3)

Men’s U19

Best and Fairest: Matt Ttisha

Runner-Up: Mathew Maronese

Third: Gabe Joseph and Harley Collias

Leading Goalkicker: Ollie Rinder (10)

Share it


UTS AFC Est 2000 logo

Round Three Team Announcement

Teams have been announced for UTS AFC third round. Player withdrawals. Please advise your coach/team manager immediately if you are unable to play. Required dress


Nominations for 2024 Committee Open

Nominations for the UTS AFC Executive Committee are open. A list of all roles and job descriptions for the UTS AFC Executive Committee (Board) for the 2024